ACTION ALERT: Contact Your City Council Member

MINNEAPOLIS RESIDENTS:

The Message:

Before November 5th Call your Minneapolis city council member and tell them:

The Affordable Housing Trust Fund creates and preserves affordable rental housing, generates jobs, increases property tax revenue and leverages additional investments.  I urge you to fund the AHTF at $10 million

Whom to Contact:

Don’t know ward number?  It can be located at:  http://www.minneapolismn.gov/council/

Ward Name Email/Email Form Address Phone Number
1 Council Member Kevin Reich Kevin.Reich@ci.minneapolis.mn.us (612) 673-2201
2 Council Member Cam Gordon cam.gordon@ci.minneapolis.mn.us (612) 673-2202
3 Council Member Diane Hofstede diane.hofstede@ci.minneapolis.mn.us (612) 673-2203
4 Council Member Barb Johnson http://www.ci.minneapolis.mn.us/council/ward4/ (612) 673-2204
5 Council Member Don Samuels don.samuels@ci.minneapolis.mn.us (612) 673-2205
6 Council Member Robert Lilligren robert.lilligren@ci.minneapolis.mn.us (612) 673-2206
7 Council Member Lisa Goodman http://www.ci.minneapolis.mn.us/council/ward7/ (612) 673-2207
8 Council Member Elizabeth Glidden Elizabeth.Glidden@ci.minneapolis.mn.us (612) 673-2208
9 Council Member Gary Schiff Gary.Schiff@ci.minneapolis.mn.us (612) 673-2209
10 Council Member Meg Tuthill Meg.Tuthill@ci.minneapolis.mn.us (612) 673-2210
11 Council Member John Quincy John.Quincy@ci.minneapolis.mn.us (612) 673-2211
12 Council Member Sandra Colvin Roy http://www.ci.minneapolis.mn.us/council/ward12/ (612) 673-2212
13 Council Member Betsy Hodges http://www.ci.minneapolis.mn.us/council/ward13/ (612) 673-2213

Talking Points:

  • 6,452 children and youth were identified as homeless and highly mobile in Minneapolis, an increase of 1.3% from the previous year. 3,636 were enrolled in MPS, representing 8.9% of total MPS student enrollment.  – Mpls Public Schools.
  • With the vacancy rate within our city at 2% and the affordable housing vacancy rate at 0%, there is an immediate need for more housing opportunities.
  • For $1,000,000 in development costs, 16 jobs are created.
  • For every $1 invested through the Minneapolis Affordable Housing Trust Fund, on average, a project receives $9 of additional investment in that project.

Background:

The Affordable housing trust fund is a city of Minneapolis resource that helps to fund affordable rental housing in the city.  When the fund was established, the goal was to commit $10 million through this fund for affordable rental housing every year.

This year, the Mayor’s proposed budget funds the Affordable Trust Fund at only $6.1 million.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.